Cardmaking and Papercraft Magazine Review May 2016

Cardmaking and Papercraft Magazine May 2016 Review by Butterfly Crafts Handmade Emporium

Like many crafters I like to treat myself and buy craft magazines. Over the past few years I have tried lots of different titles, some only purchased once or others I’ve had subscriptions too. I thought it might be interesting to review the odd craft magazine and today it’s the turn of Cardmaking and Papercraft Magazine (Issue 156, May 2016).

Cardmaking and Papercraft Magazine May 2016 Review by Butterfly Crafts Handmade Emporium

What I particularly liked about Cardmaking and Papercraft is that it’s not just for a cardmaker, there are lots of different papercraft projects for different skill levels and all of the projects have clear step-by-step instructions with pictures. This quilling project is just beautiful and could be made into a picture frame to hang on the wall.

Cardmaking and Papercraft Magazine May 2016 Review by Butterfly Crafts Handmade Emporium

For cardmakers there are more complicated projects such as these layered cascade cards that look amazing. I have never tried to create anything like this but will certainly be having a go. Then there is a section on quick makes that are more simplistic and ideal for a beginner papercrafter.

Cardmaking and Papercraft Magazine May 2016 Review by Butterfly Crafts Handmade Emporium

I also found it great that there was a masterclass section with a “celebrity” crafter, Barbara Gray, who creates the most beautiful pieces of artwork with stamps and inks, this project uses Groovi Plates, a product that is totally new to me but seems to create the effect of pergamano.

Cardmaking and Papercraft Magazine May 2016 Review by Butterfly Crafts Handmade Emporium

In many craft magazines there is always the usual Q&A pages and Cardmaking and Papercraft is no different, I always find these sections really interesting as people might ask a question that you’ve been wondering about, or something you’ve never thought about but can now understand.

Cardmaking and Papercraft Magazine May 2016 Review by Butterfly Crafts Handmade Emporium

And then there were the free gifts…..

Cardmaking and Papercraft Magazine May 2016 Review by Butterfly Crafts Handmade Emporium

Cardmaking and Papercraft Magazine May 2016 Review by Butterfly Crafts Handmade Emporium

Most card making magazines always include free papers which are attached into the magazine. The ones this month are very pretty in pastel colours. My only negative, and this is with most free papers in any magazine, is they are so thin it can be hard to do much with them, and to get more included they are always printed double sided which can be a real shame. The main free gift with Cardmaking and Papercraft this month were the Stained Glass Collection of stamps by Kate Knight, these are really very pretty and there are ideas for inspiration in the magazine. I purchased this copy from Tesco and there was a bumper free gift – the Colour Therapy Colouring Stack and stamps. Colouring is a huge craze right now but not something I’ve really had a go at so it was nice to have a bonus gift. That is one tip I will give, sometimes its good to check out the supermarkets for craft magazines as often they get to include extra gifts.

Overall I would say I like Cardmaking and Papercraft magazine, it’s not necessarily something I would purchase every month, but I never stick to one magazine too long anyway. The projects, inspiration and ideas included are great for beginners but also established crafters and its always nice to get a free gift. Have you read this magazine title? I’d love to hear what you think about it, let me know….

Cardmaking and Papercraft Magazine May 2016 Review by Butterfly Crafts Handmade Emporium

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *